ShowzNBookz

Just some thoughts about certain TV shows, movies, books & other things. The highlights and lowlights mixed with some sarcasm.

Fall TV: Pilots & Premieres 09/29/2009

Filed under: TV Shows — showznbookz @ 10:00 pm
Tags: ,

I’m a little late doing this post but here we go…

*THE USUAL GREATS*

1.  CSI: CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION – The best premiere of the season with its Matrix-inspired opening shootout scene that left you wondering what the heck happened at their headquarters.  Sara Sidle (Jorja Fox) makes a guest appearance, also.  I gotta give ya a link: see the episode, “Family Affair”, here.

2. GREY’S ANATOMY – So George is dead.  I thought they fooled us all this summer when T. R. Knight was definitely not returning to the show.  But, he really is gone.  Why couldn’t it be Izzy instead?  The first hour was better than the second, though, and I don’t even know why they had to make it two hours.

office6013. MEDIUM – Why did NBC even drop that show?  I admit, I’m not a loyal follower, only because I used to always get scared at night of the opening credits, which are the creepiest out there, but I always liked the writing and the characters.  It’s like a drama and a mystery, then all of the sudden, there are scary and eerie moments that startle you.  I’m glad CBS picked it up.

4. THE OFFICE – OMG, the opening parkour scene was so freaking hilarious!  It died down a bit throughout the rest of the show but it was still funny.

5. DANCING WITH THE STARS – Alec Mazo is back and I hope he lasts longer than in previous seasons.  Michael Irving is a disappointment though, especially after trying to best Jerry Rice.  I’m surprised he didn’t mention Emmitt Smith. Go Maya and Mark!

*THE MAYBES*

1. THE FORGOTTEN – Christian Slater and his citizen volunteers get together to help identify John and Jane Doe’s.  So far, it’s keeping me interested and it looks promising.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed.  UPDATE: I officially love the show.ncis_la_identity_1

2.  NCIS: LOS ANGELES – I could never get into the original series but LL Cool J and the setting attracted me to this show.  The pilot had cool people, a cool mission office and LL’s cool looking Dodge Charger.  Oh, wait, that’s a Challenger that looks like a modern old school Charger.  (I want that car!)  But the fight scene was corny and so choreographed, and the way G (Chris O’Donnell) got out of his sticky situation was also lame.  Hetty, the gadget gal, is a fun character and you’ll automatically think of The Incredibles when you see her.

I’m watching the second episode right now and I’m not really impressed anymore.  Hmm…

3.  FLASH FORWARD – I wasn’t really going to watch this but had to check it out because of Joseph Fiennes.  John Cho from the horrible Harold & Kumar movies can actually be taken seriously in this show.  But after the first half hour, I wasn’t buying it anymore and the whole premise seemed silly.  Was this really supposed to appeal to Lost fans?  If I’m not intrigued by the second episode, I’m dropping this show.  UPDATE:  I’m dropping this show off my TV schedule.

*THE REJECTS*

1.  EASTWICK – I always loved the movie but after the first ten minutes, it was too much of a chick’s show – and I am a chick.

2.  MODERN FAMILY – It’s shot documentary style like The Office and has the same exact feel as The Office, except that it’s not funny.

*THE I-HAVE-NO-INTEREST-IN-WATCHING-THIS SHOWS*

1. THE GOOD WIFE – I can’t believe they made a TV show out of dirty politician’s antics.  And I literally mean, dirty.

2.  THE BEAUTIFUL LIFE – I love you Ashton but I’d expect you to pick a better subject than models living in New York.  And guess what?  It’s already been canceled.

3.  TRAUMA – Looks like a dorky Grey’s Anatomy.

4.  THREE RIVERS – Looks like a dorky Grey’s Anatomy.

5.  CASTLE – Last season, I highly looked forward to this show and was bored with it in the first 20 minutes.  I never watched it again.

6. THE VAMPIRE DIARIES – I’m sick of vampires, already.

7. COUGAR TOWN – I think this is marketed toward certain ladies – and I’m not one of them.

8. THE JAY LENO SHOW – He was never funny and still isn’t.  Go Letterman!

1*THE GOTTA-SEE-BUT-THERE’S-NO-VIDEO-AVAILABLE SHOWS*

1.  THE MENTALIST – Come on, CBS!

2. CRIMINAL MINDS – What’s up, CBS?

3. THE BIG BANG THEORY – Where’s the video, CBS?

4.  SOUTHLAND – Cops shot documentary style with bleeped-out curse words.

*THE I-NEED-TO-CHECK-OUT SHOWS*

1. FRINGE

2. PARKS AND RECREATION

3. GLEE

****************************

Then there are all those cable shows, too.  Ah, too much TV to watch!

 

Leave a comment