ShowzNBookz

Just some thoughts about certain TV shows, movies, books & other things. The highlights and lowlights mixed with some sarcasm.

What Not To Rent: List #1 08/30/2009

Filed under: Movies — showznbookz @ 11:54 pm
Tags: ,

I’m going to start a post near the end of every month about what not to rent at the video store or what not to put in your Netflix queue.   The following list will include some movies from June of this year but upcoming WNTR lists will be for that particular month only.  Okay, so let’s get to it.

1. Duplicity: Starring Julia Roberts, Clive Owen, Paul Giamatti and Tom Wilkinson.  They tried to market this movie as a thriller involving duplicityespionage.  Whatever!  It was a lukewarm romance.

2.  Streets of Blood:  Starring Val Kilmer, 50 Cent and Sharon Stone.  Actually, 50 Cent didn’t act as badly as he did in Home of the Brave, but it was definitely not a notable performance.  If you’re going to pick rappers to act in movies, stick with Ice Cube or Ice-T.   This is just one of those really bad, really gritty, gangster-cop movies.

3.  Fragments:  Starring Kate Beckinsale, Forest Whittaker, Dakota Fanning, Jennifer Hudson and Guy Pearce.  The cast makes it seem like it’ll be worth watching, huh?  Wrong.  Maybe that’s why I’ve never heard of this movie until I was scrolling through new releases.  Dakota Fanning does a good job at being a crazy, religious fanatic, though.

4.  Passengers:  Starring Anne Hathaway and Patrick Wilson.  At some point, it was really predictable.  It was a rip-off of a Bruce Willis movie.  Hope that didn’t spoil it for you.

5.  The Women:  Starring Meg Ryan, Annette Benning, Jada Pinkett Smith, Eva Mendes, Debra Messing and Bette Midler.  This remake of a 1939 movie stars absolutely no men, and I mean NO men, not even in the background.   And that’s not even the reason why I didn’t like it.

6.  Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay:  Starring Kal Penn and John Cho.  Your basic frat boy type of movie, but on the lowest end.

7.  Push: Starring Djimon Hounsou, Dakota Fanning and Chris Evans. A weak superhero movie with weak super powers.  I always wonder why talented actors pick really bad roles.  Maybe Djimon and Dakota just wanted to do an action/superhero flick?

8.  Knowing:  Starring Nicholas Cage and Rose Byrne.  When is Nick Cage going to be in an awesome movie again?  Adaptation was his last great role but I think Matchstick Men, Lord of War and World Trade Center were somewhat notable roles.  I haven’t seen Bangkok Dangerous yet becasue I heard it was bad.  Should that be on the list, too?

9.  Venus: Starring Peter O’Toole.  I know it was supposed to be something more beautiful than a dirty old man chasing around a young girl, but I just couldn’t see past that.

10.  Premonition:  Starring Sandra Bullock.  I tried to like it but in the end, I couldn’t.

The Ho-Hum of the Month

  • Adventureland:  Starring Kristen Stewart, Ryan Reynolds and Jesse Eisenberg.  For me, it didn’t live up to all the hype.  Lisa P. dancing to Expose’s Point of No Return makes me laugh, though.   Oh, and the played out Rock Me Amadeus was funny, too. “Bella” was a little better in this movie than in Twilight but the role was still a little tomboyish.  (Do you remember Kristen Stewart as Jodie Foster’s daughter in Panic Room?  I seriously thought she was a boy and always wondered why they dressed her up like that and why her hair was so boyish.   Being a tomboy is fine – I was one when I was a kid – but they made her look like a straight up boy.  I never got why they did that.)

Reco of the Month

  • I Love You, Man:  Starring Paul Rudd, Rashida Jones, Jason Segal, Jaime Pressly and Jon Favreau.  A hilarious bromance with funny references to movies like The Princess Bride and shows like Lost.  Definitely not an offensive and raunchy frat boy type of movie, which is what I thought it would be.  Pressly and Favreau, the couple that hate but still love each other, are so freaking funny!
 

Leave a comment