ShowzNBookz

Just some thoughts about certain TV shows, movies, books & other things. The highlights and lowlights mixed with some sarcasm.

24: Season 7 Finale- Bring CTU Back 06/01/2009

Filed under: TV Shows — showznbookz @ 6:30 pm
Tags: ,

24jb(It’s been two weeks since I’ve seen the finale, so forgive me if my memory is hazy.)

Although there were exciting and thrilling times this season, I’d probably rank it as my penultimate least favorite  (season three was the worst, while season five was my favorite).  Maybe it was because the show was no longer set in Los Angeles and that CTU had been disbanded.  I never got tired of the drama and tension of the events in CTU, even if most of the characters were cooped up in there all day.  If the writers thought that was getting monotonous, then they were wrong.

Or maybe I felt a little sad this season because Bill Buchanan died or that Audrey Raines didn’t come back.  I honestly did not like the character of Renee Walker.   At least Chloe came back and she was able to meet her counterpart in the FBI, Janis, who was wonderfully played by Janeane Garofalo.   Aaron Pierce, the well-loved-by-24-fans ginger-haired agent, returned this season, also, to cheer me up.   And so did Morris, although he hardly had a storyline at all.  But sometimes, changing what was already working in a great TV show –  my number one favorite, BTW – is a mistake.

~*The Cliffhangers*~

  • Jack Dying:  This wasn’t much of a cliffhanger because we already knew that another season of 24 is coming.  We knew they brought back Kim Bauer – a burden, in my opinion – so she could save her father with the bone marrow treatment (am I right or is my memory hazy?).
  • Renee, a Murderer: Since she’s been the goodie two-shoes from the beginning, it’s somewhat exciting to know if she’ll shoot Alan Wilson while he’s being held in custody – I don’t think she’ll do it, though.  But why didn’t they just resolve that this season?  Why drag it on until next season when we won’t care anymore.
  • Tony Alameida: I was happy that Tony returned from the dead.  They kept teasing us with him being a good guy (from previous seasons), then a bad guy, then a good guy again, then a bad guy, again.  It was too much!  I thought for sure that Jack was going to shoot him dead in the end- because you know that 24 will kill off any character at any time – but he just gave him a leg wound.  You think Jack still cares about him even after all the crap he put him through?  I guess he’ll be back for season 8 but how will his story progress?

~*Kim Bauer Changes*~

In a previous post, I ranted about how Kim Bauer is such a burden to Jack and how she’s always the victim.  But it was so obvious how they portrayed her, in the finale, as the sudden action hero.  She was brave enough to chase after her captor, go inside a fiery car, pull away from his restraining hand inside the burning car, retrieve the laptop that contained necessary information to save the day, and prevent herself from catching on fire.  Way to go, Kim.  After a few seasons of being the victim, she emerges as a hero – but I still don’t like her.

~*The Whole Thing About Olivia*~

There was no doubt the president wasn’t going to let her daughter, Olivia, get away with conspiracy to murder.  I thought they spent too much time on their story in the finale, and it kind of took me away from Jack and other more important things.  That’s pretty much all I have to say about that.

~*Final Thoughts*~

Please bring back the drama of CTU and introduce new characters that we can actually care about next season.  Don’t get me wrong, it was still a riveting show but definitely not up to par with much of the other seasons.