ShowzNBookz

Just some thoughts about certain TV shows, movies, books & other things. The highlights and lowlights mixed with some sarcasm.

American Idol Season 8 Finale Shocker 05/21/2009

Filed under: Music,TV Shows — showznbookz @ 12:25 am
Tags: ,

adam-lambertThere have been a few shocking finales this season in television.  First, Grey’s Anatomy.  Second, Dancing with the Stars.  And now, Kris (who?) wins Idol.  I admit, I’ve never really liked Adam because of his over-the-top, theatrical performances complete with dry ice, guyliner and spotlight lighting.  Anoop and Matt were my favorites because their musical style is right up my alley, with Matt as my most favorite because of his “blue-eyed soul.”   I never thought Matt had a chance against Adam though, especially after he started losing confidence in himself and wasn’t performing that well toward the end of his run.

But if Kris was able to make it to the final two – not Danny Gokey, nor Allison Iraheta – it gets me thinking that any of the top six could have made it to the finale to face Adam, who we knew from the beginning was going to be there.  It reminds me of something Chris Rock had made a joke of once – if Jermaine Dupree could get with Janet Jackson, then hell, even he had a chance himself, or anybody had a chance.  For me, dog (a la Randy), Kris is too boy band-ish, even if he sings more pop rock or folk type songs – I don’t like his voice nor do I think he’s a better artist than Adam, who I’ve come to appreciate.  But if Kris made it to the end and actually won the whole damn thing, well then Matt Giraud had a chance of beating Adam too.  His talent was backed up by the judges when they decided to use their “save” on him earlier this season.  But Kris winning?!  Hell no!

Did you notice that Simon was not standing up with the rest of the judges after Kris was announced as the American Idol?  That tells you something; he was utterly disappointed with the result.  Well, I haven’t heard any interviews with Simon yet, but he didn’t look too happy.

Even my mother, who dislikes rock music, wanted Adam Lambert to win because she likes the way he sings.  After I showed her a YouTube video of him singing “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye” at his high school graduation with his unrecognizable blond hair (go check that out, peeps), she liked him even more.

I know I said earlier that if Adam won, I wasn’t going to watch the show anymore.  But my opinion of him has changed since then because I feel he’s a great artist, even if he’s over-the-top.  All I can say is that Adam god robbed!  If it were Matt, Danny or Allison who won instead of Adam, I wouldn’t be saying this, but because Kris won, then sheesh, there goes the show.  The title of “American Idol” just doesn’t have the same “prestige” anymore.   Winning the title isn’t eveything, though.  There have been so many successful Idol “losers” who have great careers, like Chris Daughtry and Jennifer Hudson.

The best duet of the night was Allison and Cyndi Lauper, where Cyndi went into an Indian pow-pow mode during her moment of transcendence.  My mom was laughing at the way she was sitting with her legs wide open with her knees up.  Now that I’m thinking of Cyndi Lauper, I can’t get the Goonies song out of my head.