ShowzNBookz

Just some thoughts about certain TV shows, movies, books & other things. The highlights and lowlights mixed with some sarcasm.

Body of Lies 02/20/2009

Filed under: Movies — showznbookz @ 11:49 pm
Tags: ,

BOL

Set in the Middle East, and a little in America, Leonardo DiCaprio plays Roger Ferris, a covert CIA agent trying to help rid the world of terrorists.  His boss back in America, Russel Crowe, plays Mr. Mom in suburbia while he is behind all of Ferris’ operations, at least he thinks he is.  Mark Strong also stars and after seeing him in this movie I want to learn more about his movie history because of his performance as Hani (Pasha).

The now “mature” Leonardo DiCaprio can pull off these rolls.  I’ve never liked him actually, especially after Titanic (which I hated, BTW) because of his pretty boy image.  I liked him before his Titanic success in movies such as “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape” and “Boy’s Life”.  But after seeing the outstanding “Blood Diamond” and “The Departed”, I was immediately converted from a Leo hater to a Leo fan.  “Body of Lies” seals the deal for me and I hope to enjoy more of his films.  But as a boyfriend, he seems kind of superficial for always going for those cookie cutter supermodel types.  I don’t know.  No, I’m not hating!  I’m not even attracted to Leo but I admire his efforts to contribute to a greener planet.

Russel Crowe does a better accent in this movie with a Southern drawl as compared to that “no accent” in Gladiator.  You wonder about these normal looking Mr. Moms in suburbia.  They could be behind all these covert operations to save the world and you would never suspect it.

When Leo’s character got involved with Aisha I just knew that it could blow his cover or she could be used against him in some way.  Why do they do that?!  Oh well, but I guess things turned out with a happy ending?  It’s another ambiguous scene at the end because we don’t know if Mr. Ferris is going to continue his thang with Aisha.  She had a really nosy sister too! LOL.  But I enjoyed this Ridley Scott flick.

4 out of 5 stars

 

Changeling

Filed under: Movies — showznbookz @ 11:26 pm
Tags:

change

Clint Eastwood composed a light and sweet score for this haunting movie, which I think complimented each other.  I think Angelina Jolie did a great job but I got a little tired of the crying in the first half hour because we already knew the pain she felt.  There was just one scene where I thought the excess crying could have been deleted.

It ran a bit long but I did not shift in my seat, or my bed.  At times, the movie was dark and disturbing but justice did prevail in the corrupt 20s and 30s era of the booming city of Los Angeles.

It ends ambiguously because we don’t know if Walter Collins is alive or dead.  Christine Collins, however, is still left with hope.

BTW, I loved the makeup look in this era, which was a bold red lip with a neutral eye.  I saw the DVD extras and in the 20s, the women’s fashion was chestless, waistless and hipless, a rather “no figure” kind of figure because women were getting out of the constraints of the corset.  That’s just something to think about for you ladies interested in makeup and fashion.

4 out of 5 stars